In Memoriam

clip_image002

Ambreen Nisar Husain
24.9.62 – 24.2.05

Do not stand at my grave and weep.
I am not there. I do not sleep.
I am a thousand winds that blow.
I am the diamond glints on snow.

I am the sunlight on ripened grain.
I am the gentle autumn rain.

When you awaken in the morning’s hush,
I am the swift uplifting rush
Of quiet birds in circled flight.

I am the soft stars that shine at night.
Do not stand at my grave and cry.
I am not there. I did not die.

(mary elizabeth frye – 1932)

Ambreen-1

Sit with me a while
Hold my hand and share my pain,
For even the Heavens cried with me
that day a part of me died,

A part of my life that was so gentle,
thoughtful and caring;
Loving, sensitive and warm
with a soft cheerful voice

A part that had from infancy become
the sunshine of all of our lives,
The Heavens cried that day a part of me died

The joyous chuckle, the radiant smile
The thoughtful furrowed brow,
The glaring eyes, the sea of emotions
that we shared;

Memories of that gentle voice are silent now
But the smile, the touch and the love
is all in my heart,
to cherish till I depart

The Heavens cried when my Tu passed on.

-Ba- (Zahid Husain)

Ambreen2

3 Responses to “In Memoriam”

  1. Asma Says:

    It took me years years back memory lane when Ambreen’s name came up amongst old childhood friend. I couldnt but feel deep tragic loss at hearing her leaving us .
    I have only beautiful memories of her, soft kind gentle and so very intelligent.
    A pity I didnt get moments more to spend with her.
    May her soul rest in peace…aimeen

  2. naheed tofiq mooraj Says:

    I am so glad Zahid, I managed to find u on FB. I had not realized that I had been missing my sweet friend till I started writing to u and yes I do miss her. Ambreen was one of the softest sweetest people going, firm when she needed to be but the firmness also came with a little giggle….my earliest memories of her is us 2 jumping and bouncing on some crazy bouncing/man in your place just near the gizri graveyard…that night Ambreen was leaving for the UK to receive treatment. I have the most fun loving, gentle memories of her, I remember meeting up with her in the UK {not so long ago} and was very nervous about getting lost…:))) She was ever so sweet and patient and assured me no such thing would happen….I could go on and on abt my friend. My darling friend I hope u are at peace…I so had wanted to visit your resting place but Inshallah when I am there I will definitely come….I never manged to say goodbye, u went to quick and too soon, good for you but sad for us. Had not realized that 5yrs have passed. I miss u.

  3. Nabila Says:

    I didnt realise its been 5 years..what lovely photographs, I remember her as a young child, as she is in the photograph with uncle FS and Aunty Zarina…and the one with C.Nana, Aunty Bella and Aunty Zarina


Leave a Reply

